what are level 3 hospitals?

If a hospital provides trauma care to adult and paediatric patients, the level designation may not be the same for each group. The location of Ohio's trauma centres means that most Ohioans live within 25 miles of a Level I, II or III hospital. A Level II trauma centre provides definitive care for most injuries, with the exception of some complex injuries. Patients with injuries related to falls and fractures are generally a large percentage of the trauma population seen at Level III trauma centres.

Only Trauma centres are referred to as a Level One if they serve the most critical, HOWEVER, with the classification of hospitals, it is the other way around, Level One would be the smallest and provide the fewest services. Trauma centres must meet certain requirements to be designated Level I to Level IV, with Level I trauma centres providing the highest level of specialised care. Trauma centre services complement traditional hospital and emergency services and enhance the level of care that hospitals provide to the communities they serve. There are several minor differences between a Level I and II trauma centre, but the main difference is that the Level II trauma centre does not have the research and publication requirements of a Level I trauma centre.

The levels of trauma centres are determined by the type of trauma resources available in the hospital and the number of trauma patients admitted each year. A level V trauma centre provides initial assessment, stabilisation, diagnostic capability and transfer to a higher level of care. The different levels refer to the types of resources available in a trauma centre and the number of patients admitted annually. Differences vary between states in terms of requirements, but most, but not all, Level I trauma centres are tertiary hospitals.

Level III trauma centres do not have such extensive requirements in terms of specialists on staff and only require general surgery, orthopaedic surgery and internal medicine. A level III trauma centre does not have the full availability of specialists, but has resources for emergency resuscitation, surgery and intensive care for most trauma patients. In addition, a Level I centre has a research programme, is a leader in trauma education and injury prevention, and is a referral resource for communities in nearby regions.

Summer Mason
Summer Mason

Infuriatingly humble twitter fanatic. Professional pop culture lover. Professional twitteraholic. Infuriatingly humble bacon scholar. Typical tvaholic.

Leave Message

Required fields are marked *